Psalm 26:2 Prove me, O LORD, and try me; test my heart and my mind.

Yikes… Did I really just read this and was the psalmist serious? I mean, God can give you some really serious tests. His trials can be absolutely horrifying, just look at Job. And yet we must be willing to not only suffer for our faith but also endure trials to strengthen our faith.

We are prepared to suffer for our faith in some outward, obvious and uplifting way that all can see. We are willing sacrifice for the Lord as long as everyone can see our sacrifice and acknowledge it. How about when the test that comes is between God and us, one on one, with no one but the Lord knowing why we are afflicted? Can we endure the testing that comes in secret, the testing that is not rewarded with the admiration of our peers?

We must each look into our heart and soul, see the mess that is there and then pray for God to cleanse our heart and soul in whatever way He deems best for us. We must receive with joy the tests and trials that the Lord uses to sanctify us and make us more like Jesus.

