This morning I think back to the first time that my prayers were truly heartfelt and from a broken and contrite heart. As I lay in bed after the passing of Billie Jean, my first wife I cried out to God in pure despair that my life no longer had meaning and that the pain was too great to bear. How was I to go on? Where would my peace come from?

Well, my prayer was answered with immediate peace and my heart grew that night and my life was changed forever. Yet, I still needed healing and spiritual growth. So, I started hunting and found a church that gave me the spiritual guidance that I needed then. As my faith grew and I slowly began to heal I found the Christian Appalachian Project (CAP).

CAP was the place where I could bathe in Lord’s Spirit, serving His children with fellow volunteers. From April 2010 to July 2011, I was allowed the time to complete my healing and move forward.

Then three years later, my new wife and partner Linda and I were searching for ways to serve the Lord and I remembered CAP. We came back to this place of God to volunteer in service to the Lord. We spent from April 2014 to February 2015 with a new bunch of volunteers who accepted us and helped us become even closer to each other and the Lord.

Like many of the volunteers of CAP we have moved on the serving the Lord in other capacities, always a member of the CAP family.

